Statute

1. Name

The association will have the name:

‘European Association of Lawyers for Democracy and Human Rights in the World’ ELDH

2. Objectives of the Association

2.1. The Association has the following objectives:

a. The promotion

· of peace, of disarmament, and of understanding between the peoples

· protection of environment

· the fight against racism and fascism

· the equal entitlement of women and men

· respect for the rights of children;

b. The fight against all discrimination especially on grounds of ethnicity, religious or other convictions, age, sexual orientation or personal lifestyle;

c. The realisation of human rights and democracy in their political, economic and social aspects within and outside Europe; to this end the formation of new economic relations shall be promoted, based on justice and on better guarantees for the independence of the legal process;

d. Assisting the progress of democracy within the different European institutions; for this purpose a European Charter of Fundamental Rights shall be drawn up, which should be binding on all legal process within Europe;

2.2. The objectives of the Association shall be realized through:

a. Academic and other international and also national events in accordance with the Association’s objectives;

b. Formulating draft legal instruments in order to influence (within the ambit of the Association’s objectives) the development of law and democracy in the States of Europe and the European institutions, as well as in the other regions of the world;

c. The development of relations between European lawyers as well as between lawyers of other continents and their organizations, and the development of relations with the INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF DEMOCRATIC LAWYERS and other national and international organizations which have as their goal the defense of human rights;

d. Support for concrete projects in other regions of the world with a view to the development and the progress of democratic and law-governed relations, in cooperation with the lawyers of the countries concerned;

e. Solidarity support for all victims of violations of human and peoples rights;

f. Support for measures through the States of Europe and through the EC for the creation of conditions for the migratory movements of the world which accord with human dignity.

2.3. The association is disinterested. It does not pursue its own economic goals, is non-profit-making and does not charge for its services.

3. Membership

3.1. Membership of the Association is open to all associations of lawyers of European countries which recognize the Association’s constitution and want to participate in the realization of its goals. Individual membership of lawyers from European countries is admitted under the conditions set out Clause 5. The declaration of membership must be in writing.

3.2. The Executive Committee will examine and decide upon membership applications until the next General Assembly, which may confirm the decision.

3.3. Membership will end:

a. By resignation, which must at the latest be announced 3 month before the end of the calendar year;

b. by expulsion for activities which are in opposition to the aims of the Association or in some other way violate the Rules of the Association, which question will be decided by the General Assembly upon the motion of the Executive Committee;

c. By expulsion for non-payment of membership fees, to be decided by the Executive Committee on a simple majority if the member concerned persists in non-payment after two months (and a written request setting out also the consequences of non-payment).

4. Income of the Association

4.1. The income of the Association will compromise membership fees, donations and other contributions.

4.2. The income of the Association is not permitted to be used other than for the realization of its constitutional aims. Members will not receive any reimbursement form the income of the Association.

No person may benefit from money from the Association which is not spent for the aims of the Association, nor from unjustified expenses. In particular, outgoings and expenses are not to exceed actual costs.

4.3. Membership fees are to be set by the Assembly, which will establish the framework in which these are to be paid.

4.4. At a termination of membership, there will be no reimbursement of membership fees, donations or contributions.

4.5. The business year will be the calendar year.

5. Organs of the Association

a. General Assembly

The General Assembly will meet at least every two years. It has to be invited by the executive committee by letter which implies also the agenda at least 4 weeks in advance. It will decide upon membership applications. In particular, it will have the following functions:

· elections and dissolutions of the Executive Committee (including the President and the Secretary-General);

· adoption of principal objectives and activities of the Association;

· modifications of the Constitution;

· adoption of methods and regulations concerning payment of membership fees.

decisions on the expulsion of members, where the Executive Committee cannot decide by itself.

At the General Assembly, the associations will be grouped by nationality. Each one of these group members will have the same number of votes. Other members will have only a right of participation and of speech.

Except for modifications of the Constitution, decisions will be taken by a simple majority of members present who have the right to vote. For adoption of an amendment to the Constitution, a majority of three quarters of voting members who are present is necessary.

The General Assembly will be convoked automatically at the request of a third of its members.

b. Executive Committee

The Executive Committee will consist of a minimum of ten members elected by the General Assembly, including the President and the Secretary – General. They will hold office for two years. The first period of office commences with the foundations of the Association. At the end of the period of office, a General Assembly shall be convened for the election of a new Executive Committee.

In particular, it will have the following functions:

· Convocation of the General Assembly;

· Establishing a programme of activities;

· Deciding upon the annual budget;

· Deciding upon membership applications and terminations of membership until the General Assembly has made its decision.

The executive Committee will meet at least once a year.

c. Bureau

The Executive Committee will appoint from its members the Bureau. The Bureau will be responsible for day to day affairs in the context of decisions taken by the Executive Committee.

6. Legal Representation

The Association will be legally represented by the President; failing that, by the Secretary General.

7. Advisory Council

The Executive Committee may form an Advisory Council, which can be of elected lawyers who have shown particular merit in the progress of democracy and the defense of human rights. The members of the Advisory Council will advise the Executive Committee on its programme of activities.

8. Dissolution of the Association

The dissolution of the Association may only be decided upon by a General Assembly which has been convoked in accordance with the proper procedure of the Association, and by a majority of three quarters of the members present with a right to vote.

If there is to be a liquidation, the liquidators are to be the members of the representative bodies of the Association. The decision of liquidation regulates also the use of the assets of the Association. In case of liquidation or in case of removal of the objectives of general interest, the assets of the Association are to be used by the holders of the assets exclusively and immediately for objectives of general interest within the meaning of this statute. Decisions concerning the assets may not be made except with the agreement of the relevant statutory finance bodies.

9. Commencement

The Constitution will come into effect upon its adoption by the founding General Assembly

10.

The Administrative Council may amend the Constitution if this is a purely administrative modification.

11.

11.1.The seat of the Association will be Düsseldorf.

11.2. The Association pursues exclusively and directly goals which are scientific and in the public interest, in conformity with the German fiscal law.

11.3. The Association will be recognized by the financial authorities as being of common interest within the meaning of paragraphs 51 A.O. 1977 and as worthy of support within the meaning of paragraph 10b ESTG.

 

Paris, 1. may 1993

Satzung

§ 1 Der Verein führt den Namen

„Europäische Vereinigung von Juristinnen und Juristen für Demokratie und Menschenrechte in der Welt“ (EJDM) e.V.

§ 2 Vereinsziele

1. Der Verein hat folgende Ziele

a.

  • Förderung des Friedens, der Abrüstung, die Völkerverständigung,
  • Schutz der Umwelt,
  • Kampf gegen Rassissmus und Faschismus,
  • Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und Männern,
  • Achtung der Rechte der Kinder,

b. Kampf gegen jede Diskriminierung insbesondere aufgrund ethnischer Zugehörigkeit oder Nichtzugehörigkeit, religiöser oder sonstiger Überzeugungen, Alter, sexueller Orientierung oder persönlicher Lebensgestaltung,

c. die Verwirklichung der Menschenrechte und der Demokratie in politischer und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht innerhalb und außerhalb Europas; zu diesem Zweck soll die Herausbildung neuer wirtschaftlicher Beziehungen gefördert werden, welche sich gründen auf Gerechtigkeit und besserer Garantien für die Unabhängigkeit gerichtlicher Verfahren,

d. beizutragen zum Fortschritt der Demokratie innerhalb der verschiedenen Europäischen Institutionen; zu diesem Zweck soll eine Charta Europäischer Grundrechte geschaffen werden, welche für alle rechtlichen Verfahren in Europa verbindlich sein soll.

2. Der Satzungszweck wird verwirklicht durch

a. wissenschaftliche und sonstige internationale und auch nationale Veranstaltungen im Sinne des Vereinszwecks;

b. Erstellung wissenschaftlicher Rechtsgutachten zur Einflußnahme auf die Entwicklung des Rechts und der Demokratie in den Staaten Europas, und den europäischen Institutionen sowie den übrigen Regionen der Welt im Sinne des Vereinszwecks,

c. Entwicklung von Beziehungen zwischen den europäischen JuristInnen und ihren Organisationen sowie zu den JuristInnen anderer Kontinente und Entwicklung von Beziehungen zur INTERNATIONALEN VEREINIGUNG DEMOKRATISCHER JURISTINNEN und zu anderen nationalen und internationalen Vereinigungen welche die Verteidigung der Menschenrechte zum Ziel haben,

d. Unterstützung konkreter Projekte in anderen Regionen der Welt, zur Entwicklung demokratischer und rechtsstaatlicher Verhältnisse, in Zusammenarbeit mit den JuristInnen der betreffenden Länder,

e. solidarische Unterstützung für alle Opfer von Menschenrechts- und Völkerrechtsverletzungen,

f. Unterstützung von Maßnahmen durch die Staaten Europas und durch die EG zur Schaffung menschenwürdiger Bedingungen für die Migrationsbewegungen auf der Welt

3. Der Verein ist selbstlos tätig. Er verfolgt keine eigenwirtschaftlichen Zwecke, erstrebt keinen Gewinn und stellt seine Leistungen grundsätzlich nicht in Rechnung.

§ 3 Mitgliedschaft

(1) Die Mitgliedschaft können alle JuristInnenorganisationen aus europäischen Ländern erwerben, welche die Satzung der EJDM anerkennen und die sich beteiligen wollen an der Verwirklichung ihrer Ziele. Die individuelle Mitgliedschaft von JuristInnen aus europäischen Ländern ist zu denselben Voraussetzungen sowie unter den in §5 genannten Bedingungen möglich. Der Beitritt muß schriftlich erklärt werden.

(2) Der Vorstand prüft und entscheidet über die Aufnahme bis zur nächsten Mitgliederversammlung, die dann endgültig darüber entscheidet.

(3) Die Mitgliedschaft endet

(a) durch Austritt, der schriftlich spätestens drei Monate vor Ablauf des Kalenderjahres erklärt werden muß

(b) durch Ausschluß wegen Verhaltens, welches im Gegensatz steht zu den Zielen der Vereinigung oder auf irgendeine andere Weise das Statut der Vereinigung verletzt, worüber auf Antrag des Vorstandes die Mitgliederversammlung entscheidet.

(c) durch Ausschluß wegen Beitragsverzugs, über den der Vorstand mit einfacher Mehrheit entscheidet, wenn das Mitglied mit der Zahlung des Mitgliedsbeitrages in Verzug ist, und wenn es mit einer Fristsetzung von zwei Monaten schriftlich gemahnt und auf die Folgen der Säumnis hingewiesen wurde.

§ 4 Vereinsmittel

(1) Die Mittel zur Erfüllung seiner Aufgaben erhält der Verein durch Mitgliedsbeiträge, Spenden und sonstige Zuwendungen.

(2) Die Mittel des Vereins dürfen nur zu satzungsmäßigen Zwecken verwendet werden. Die Mitglieder erhalten keine Zuwendungen aus Mitteln des Vereins. Keine Person darf durch Ausgaben, die den Zwecken des Vereins fremd sind, oder durch unverhältnismäßig hohe Vergütungen begünstigt werden. Insbesondere dürfen Ausgaben und Vergütungen die tatsächlich entstandenen Kosten nicht übersteigen.

(3) Die Beiträge werden von der Mitgliederversammlung in einer Beitragsordnung festgelegt.

(4) Bei Beendigung der Mitgliedschaft bestehen keine Ansprüche auf Rückzahlung bezahlter Beiträge, Spenden oder sonstiger Zuwendungen.

(5) Das Geschäftsjahr entspricht dem Kalenderjahr.

§ 5 Organe des Vereins

a. Mitgliederversammlung

Die Mitgliederversammlung tagt wenigstens alle zwei Jahre. Sie wird vom Vorstand im S.d. § 6 der Satzung mit einer Frist von 4 Wochen unter Angabe der Tagesordnung durch schriftliche Einladung einberufen. Sie entscheidet über Beitrittsgesuche. Sie hat insbesondere folgende Aufgaben:

  • Wahl und Entlastung des Vorstandes (einschließlich der/des Vorsitzenden und der Generalsekretärin/des Generalsekretärs)
  • Festlegung der grundsätzlichen Ziele und Aufgaben der Vereinigung
  • Änderung der Satzung
  • Festlegung der Beitragsordnung
  • Beschluß über den Ausschluß von Mitgliedern, soweit der Vorstand diese nicht allein entscheiden kann
  • Soweit in dieser Satzung nichts anderes bestimmt ist, genügt für die Beschlußfassung die einfache Mehrheit der Stimmen der anwesenden stimmberechtigten Mitglieder. Für eine Änderung der Satzung bedarf es einer Mehrheit von drei Vierteln der anwesenden stimmberechtigten Mitglieder.

Die Generalversammlung muß einberufen werden, wenn ein Drittel der Vereinsmitglieder dies verlangen.

b. Vorstand

Der Vorstand besteht aus mindestens zehn Mitgliedern, darunter die/der Vorsitzende und die/der GeneralsekretärIn. Seine reguläre Amtszeit beträgt zwei Jahre. Die Amtszeit des ersten Vorstandes beginnt mit der Gründung des Vereins. Vor Ablauf seiner Amtszeit ist eine Mitgliederversammlung für die Wahl eines neuen Vorstandes einzuberufen.

Der Vorstand hat insbesondere folgende Aufgaben

  • Einberufung der Generalversammlung
  • Planung der Aktivitäten
  • Festlegung der Jahreshaushalte
  • Beschlußfassung über Beitritte und Ausschlüsse, bis zur Beschlußfassung der Generalversammlung.

Er tagt wenigstens einmal pro Jahr.

c. Geschäftsführung

Der Vorstand ernennt aus seinem Kreis die Geschäftsführung , darunter die/den von der Generalversammlung gewählte(n) GeneralsekretärIn. Die Geschäftsführung ist verantwortlich für die laufenden Geschäfte im Rahmen der vom Vorstand gefaßten Beschlüsse.

§ 6 Gesetzliche Vertretung

Der Verein wird vertreten durch die/den Vorsitzende(n) oder durch die/den GeneralsekretärIn. Diese beiden Personen sind Vorstand im Sinne des § 26 BGB. Sie sind auch allein zuständig für Anmeldungen beim Vereinsregister. Dies gilt auch für die Erstanmeldung beim Vereinsregister Düsseldorf.

§ 7 Beirat

Der Vorstand kann einen Beirat bilden. In diesen Beirat können JuristInnen gewählt werden, die besondere Verdienste in der Entwicklung der Demokratie und der Entwicklung der Menschenrechte erlangt haben. Die Mitglieder des Beirats haben die Aufgabe, den Vorstand bei der Planung von Aktivitäten zu beraten.

§ 8 Auflösung des Vereins

Die Auflösung des Vereins kann von der formgerecht einberufenen Mitgliederversammlung nur mit einer Mehrheit von wenigstens dreiviertel der anwesenden stimmberechtigten Mitglieder beschlossen werden.

Ist die Liquidation des Vereinsvermögens erforderlich, so sind die im Amt befindlichen Mitglieder des Vertretungsvorstandes die Liquidatoren. Über das verbleibende Vereinsvermögen wird mit dem Auflösungsbeschluß befunden. Im Falle der Liquidation oder bei Wegfall steuerbegünstigter Zwecke ist das Vermögen zu steuerbegünstigten Zwecken im Sinne des Vereinszwecks zu verwenden. Beschlüsse über die zukünftige Verwendung des Vermögens dürfen erst nach Einwilligung des zuständigen Finanzamts ausgeführt werden.

§ 9 Inkrafttreten

Die Satzung tritt in Kraft, sobald sie von der Gründungsversammlung beschlossen ist.

§ 10 Ermächtigung des Vorstandes

Der Vorstand wird ermächtigt, Satzungsänderungen vorzunehmen, soweit diese zur Eintragung ins Vereinsregister erforderlich sind und den Vereinszweck nicht verändern.

§ 11

  1. Der Sitz des Vereins ist Düsseldorf.
  2. Der Verein verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar wissenschaftliche, gemeinnützige Zwecke gemäß den deutschen steuerrechtlichen Vorschriften .3. Er soll von den zuständigen Finanzbehörden als gemeinnützig im Sinne des § 51 A.O. 1977 und als besonders förderungswürdig im Sinne des § 10 b EStG anerkannt werden.

Paris, den 1. Mai 1993

Fassung vom 14.3.1994