International Fair Trial Day Conference and the Ebru Timtik Award Ceremony – 14 June 2023, Mexico City/Mexico

Registration: HERE

In-Person & Online Event
Venue: Museo Memoria y Tolerancia A.C., Auditorio


Download the programme: in English – in French – in Spanish

10:00 -10:15Opening Remarks A representative of the Steering Group A representative of the host institution
10:15 -10:45Keynote Speeches Judge Ricardo Perez Manrique, President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (modality TBC)Commissioner Esmeralda Arosemena de Troitiño, Inter-American Commission of Human Rights, Rapporteur for Mexico Ms. Margaret Satterthwaite, United Nations Special Rapporteur on the independence of judges and lawyers (video message)
10:45 – 11:45Setting the Scene: Systemic Fair Trial Rights Concerns in Mexico

TBC   Speakers: José Luis Caballero, ICJ Commissioner, professor at the Iberoamericana University Pedro Salazar, Director of the Institute of Juridical Research, National Autonomous University of Mexico Laurence Pantin, Program Coordinator for Transparency in Justice and Special Projects, México Evalúa
11.45 – 12.00Coffee Break
12:00-13:30From Rights to Justice: Unveiling the Interplay Between Human Rights and Due Process in Mexico Moderator: TBC Speakers: Roberto López Miguel, Lawyer, Colectivo Los Otros AbogadozVictorico Gálvez Pérez, Lawyer, HRC Fray Bartolomé de Las Casas Valentina Rosendo Cantú, Human Rights Defender, Indigenous Me’phaa community, State of GuerreroMartha Figueroa Mier, Lawyer, Women’s rights defender, Chiapas
13:30-14:30Lunch break
14:30 – 16:00Seeking Accountability: Responses to Enforced Disappearances and Summary Executions Moderator: TBC Speakers: Ana Lorena Delgadillo Pérez, Executive Director, Fundación para la Justicia y el Estado Democrático de Derecho Tita Radilla, Vice-president of the the Association of Relatives of the Detained-Disappeared in Mexico (AFADEM)Santiago Aguirre, Director, Centro de Derechos Humanos Miguel Agustín Pro Juárez (Centro ProDH)
16:00 – 16:30Coffee Break
16:30 – 17:30Ebru Timtik Award Ceremony Diego García Sayán, Former Special Rapporteur on the independence of judges and lawyers, Former President and Former Judge of the Inter-American Court of Human RightsRepresentative of the Ebru Timtik Award Selection CommitteeMirta Kupfernic, Multidisciplinary artist, Lecturer, Director of LABA-BA Awardee(s) (TBC)